Skip to Content | Text-only

Faculty




Department Chair: Dr. Michael Crenshaw
Associate Chair: Dr. Brian D. Thoms
Graduate Directors: Dr. Xiaochun He (Physics) and Dr. Sebastien Lepine (Astronomy)
Undergraduate Advisors: Dr. Brian D. Thoms (Physics) and Dr. Misty Bentz (Astronomy)

Click to access P&A faculty accomplishments

PHYSICISTS




Yohannes Abate
Assistant Professor

Phone (Office): (404)413-6104
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: yabate@gsu.edu
Research Areas: Condensed matter physics


Vadym Apalkov
Associate Professor

Phone (Office): (404)413-6016
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: vapalkov@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Web: Research, Personal Page
Research Areas: Condensed matter physics


Richard Briggs
Professor

Phone (Office):
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: rbriggs1@gsu.edu
Web: Research
Research Areas: Neuroimaging-fMRI,ASL,MRS, DTI

Mukesh Dhamala
Associate Professor

Phone (Office): (404)413-6043
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: mdhamala@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Web: Research, Personal Page
Research Areas: Biophysics and Brain Sciences

Nikolaus Dietz
Professor

Phone (Office): (404)413-6002
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: dietz@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Web: Research, Personal Page
Research Areas: Condensed matter physics

Gary Hastings
Associate Professor

Phone (Office): (404)413-6055
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: ghastings@gsu.edu
Web: Research, Personal Page
Research Areas: Biophysics

Xiaochun He
Distinguished Professor
Physics Graduate Director

Phone (Office): (404)413-6051
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: xhe@gsu.edu
Web: Research, Personal Page
Research Areas: High energy nuclear physics


Joshua Von Korff
Assistant Professor

Phone (Office): (404)413-6009
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: jvonkorff@gsu.edu
Web: Research, Personal Page
Research Areas: Physics education

  Alexander Kozhanov
Assistant Professor
Phone: (404)413-6084
Email: akozhanov@gsu.edu
Web: Research, Personal Page
Research Areas: Spintronics and Magnetism
  Ramesh Mani
Professor

Phone (Office): (404)413-6007
Email: rmani@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Web: Research, Personal Page
Research Areas: Condensed matter physics

Steven T. Manson
Regents' Professor
Fellow, American Physical Society

Phone (Office): (404)413-6046
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: manson@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Web: Research, Personal Page
Research Areas: Atomic and molecular structure and collisions


Unil Perera
Regents' Professor
Fellow, American Physical Society
Fellow, Society of Photoinstrumentation Engineers
Fellow, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers

Phone (Office): (404)413-6037
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: uperera@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Web: Research, Personal Page
Research Areas: Condensed matter/ Semiconductor optoelectonics/ Nano sensors


Mark Stockman
Professor
Fellow, American Physical Society
Fellow, Optical Society of America

Phone (Office): (404)413-6038
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: mstockman@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Web: Research, Personal Page
Research Areas: Theory of nanoplasmonics, nonlinear, coherent, ultrafast and ultrastrong field phenomena in nanooptics


Murad Sarsour
Assistant Professor

Phone (Office): (404)413-6077
Email: msar@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Web: Research, Personal Page
Research Areas: Experimental nuclear physics


Brian D. Thoms
Associate Professor, Associate Chair & Physics Undergraduate Advisor

Phone (Office): (404)413-6045
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: bthoms@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Web: Research, Personal Page
Research Areas: Physics Education Research (PER) and Surface Science

ASTRONOMERS




Fabien Baron
Assistant Professor
Phone (Office): (404)413-6087
Email: baron@chara.gsu.edu
Research Areas: Image reconstruction from interferometry

Misty Bentz
Assistant Professor, Astronomy Undergraduate Advisor

Phone (Office): (404)413-6082
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: bentz@chara.gsu.edu
Web: Research, Personal Page
Research Areas: Active galaxies and quasars; Black hole mass


D. Michael Crenshaw
Professor, Chairman

Phone (Office): (404)413-6036
Email: crenshaw@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Web: Research, Personal Page
Research Areas: Active galaxies and quasars; UV and X-ray spectroscopy

Douglas R. Gies
Regents' Professor

Phone (Office): (404)413-6021
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: gies@chara.gsu.edu
Web: Research, Personal Page
Research Areas: Be star phenomena, hot stars and stellar wind

Todd J. Henry
Distinguished Professor

Phone (Office): (404)413-6054
Email: thenry@chara.gsu.edu
Web: Research, Personal Page
Research Areas: Nearby stars, stellar masses and life in the universe


Sebastien Lepine
Associate Professor
Astronomy Graduate Director
Phone (Office): (404)413-6020
Email: slepine@chara.gsu.edu
Research Areas: Large astronomical surveys, archives, and catalogs. Astro-informatics and data mining. Nearby and low-mass stars. White dwarfs. Exoplanet surveys. Optical spectroscopy and stellar classification. Stellar kinematics and Galactic structure

Piet Martens
Professor
Phone(Office): (404)413-6612
Fax: (404)413-5481
Email: martens@astro.gsu.edu
Web: Research, Personal Page
Research Areas: Solar Physics, Solar-Stellar Connection

Rachel Kuzio de Naray
Assistant Professor
Phone(Office): (404)413-6086
Email: kuzio@chara.gsu.edu
Web: Research, Personal Page
Research Areas: Galaxies, dark matter

Russel White
Associate Professor

Phone (Office): (404)413-6018
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: white@chara.gsu.edu
Web: Research, Personal Page
Research Areas: Planet formation, fundamental stellar properties

JOINT APPOINTMENTS




Gennady Cymbalyuk
Associate Professor

Department: Neuroscience
Phone (Office): (404)413-6001
Email: gcymbalyuk@gsu.edu
Web: Research, Personal Page
Research Areas: Biophysics, Dynamic Neuroscience

Donald Edwards
Regents' Professor

Department: Neuroscience
Phone (Office): (404)413-5394
Fax: (404)413-5446
Email: dedwards@gsu.edu
Web: Research, Personal Page
Research Areas: Biophysics, Dynamic Neuroscience

ACADEMIC PROFESSIONALS

LECTURERS


Sumith Doluweera
Phone (Office): (404) 413-6074
Email: doluweera@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Research Areas: Physics of strongly correlated electron systems, Physics education and Medical imaging.
John Evans
Phone (Office): (404) 413-6076
Email: jevans@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Research Areas: Physics Education & Innovative Instruction 

Ben Q. McGimsey
Phone (Office): (404)413-6026
Email: bmcgimsey@phy-astr.gsu.edu 
Ruili Wang
Phone (Office): (404) 413-6080
Email: rwang3@gsu.edu
Research Areas: Biophysics, Physics Education and Innovative Instruction 

EMERITUS FACULTY



Frank Hsu
Phone (Office): (404)463-9918
Email: fhsu@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Research Areas: Position Annihilation
Harold A. McAlister
Phone (Office): (404)413-5484
Email: hal@chara.gsu.edu
Web: Personal Page
Research Areas: Optical arrays, speckle interferometry, stellar masses


H. Richard Miller
Email: miller@chara.gsu.edu
Phone (Office): (404)413-6023
Web: Personal Page
Research Areas: Microvariability in active galactic nuclei extragalactic astronomy

Carl Rod Nave
Author of Hyperphysics
Phone (Office): (404)413-6050
Email: rodnave@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Web: Personal Page
David W. Wingert
Phone (Office): (404)413-6019
Email: wingert@chara.gsu.edu
Research Areas: Interstellar medium, stellar evolution

ADJUNCT FACULTY


Andrew Boden


Hsiao-Ling Zhou
Email: zhou@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Web: Personal Page
Ian Ferguson
Research Area: Condensed matter physics/Semiconductor optoelectronics
Phone (Office): (704)678-8484
Email: ianf@uncc.edu
Web: Personal Page
Zineb Felfli
Office: 411 Science Annex
Phone (Office): (404)413-6005
Email: zineb@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Tennakone K.
Email: ktenna@yahoo.co.uk
H.C Liu
Email: h.c.liu@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca
Web: Personal page
Vivekananda Penumetcha
Email: vivekp@gsu.edu
Deepak Raghavan
Email: draghavan1@gsu.edu
Stephen T. Ridgway
Phone (Office): (502)318-8297
Email: ridgway@noao.edu