Skip to Content | Text-only



`Welcome to the Department of Physics and Astronomy website. We carry out research activities in a broad area, covering the range from constituents of matter at the subatomic and nuclear levels to the formation and evolution of active galaxies. Our CHARA Array is the largest optical/IR interferometer in the world and can be remotely controlled from Atlanta.

In their pursuit of original research, departmental faculty (with postdoctoral fellows, visiting scholars, graduate and undergraduate students) have collaborations and joint programs with scientists in over 15 countries. We take great pride in teaching our undergraduate and graduate students. Our faculty developed an instructional Physics website (Hyperphysics) which receives about 50 million hits per year!

News and Events

  • April 15, 2014:
    Dr. Unil Perera and his collaborators have succeeded in realizing ultralong wavelength photodetectors. See their recent nature photonics article and GSU's coverage.
  • April 10, 2014:
    Rachel Kuzio de Naray in Physics will be on Georgia Public Broadcasting tonight discussing the Big Bang.
  • April 9, 2014:
    Mr. Tianyu (Mark) Ye, Mr. Han-Chun Liu, and Dr. Ramesh Mani have published an exciting study on the combined effects of microwave power and polarization on the radiation-induced magnetoresistance oscillations in the Physical Review B, see.
  • April 7, 2014:
    Outstanding graduate students of 2014 announced: 1. Joseph H. Hadley Outstanding Advanced Graduate Student Award in Physics:Tianyu (Mark) Ye. 2. Outstanding Advanced Graduate Student Award in Astronomy:Joe Eggen, Jeremy Manue. 3. Outstanding Second Year Graduate Student Award in Physics:Kiran Dhakal, Churamani Paudel. 4. Outstanding Second Year Graduate Student Award in Astronomy: Samuel Quinn. 5. Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award in Physics: Mohammad Javani. 6. Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award in Astronomy: Ryan Norris Hankla. 7. Advanced Senior Undergraduate Award: Matthew Haddad.
  • April 4, 2014:
    Dr. Misty Bentz has received the College's Outstanding Junior Faculty Award.
  • March 27, 2014:
    Dr. Rachel Kuzio de Naray has been elected as a member of the executive committee of the American Astronomical Society's Division on Dynamical Astronomy. Her term begins in July and lasts for the next two years.
  • March 21, 2014:
    Felicia Watts, our office and business manager, has won the 2014 College of Arts and Sciences Senior Staff Leadership Award.
  • March 17, 2014:
    Department Newsletter: Spring 2014 - Inaugural issue
  • March 7, 2014:
    Dr. Xiaochun He has been named a Distinguished University Professor by GSU President Mark Becker for his outstanding record in research, teaching, and mentoring students in research.
  • March 3, 2014:
    Prof Mark Stockman's review article is published in Nature Photonics and also makes it to the cover.
  • March 3, 2014:
    Prof Mark Stockman becomes an elected SPIE Fellow for his achievements in nano-optics and nanoplasmonics. SPIE is the international society for optics and photonics.
  • February 21, 2014:
    Recent GSU PhD graduate Dr. Sergio Dieterich has been awarded an NSF Astronomy and Astrophysics Postdoctoral Fellowship. This is the second time a GSU PhD has received this fellowship, the first being by Dr. Ginny McSwain in 2005. He will be taking this fellowship with him to Carnegie Institution of Washington's Department of Terrestrial Magnetism in Washington, D.C where he will continue his work exploring the boundary between stars and brown dwarfs.
  • Click to access P&A news archive

    Upcoming Seminars and Events

    Quantum Structured Infrared Photodector 2014 - International Conference